Steering committee of GSSE 2025

At GSSE, we strongly believe that experience, passion, and excellence are game changers and thus, keeping this at the core of our activities, we have an impressive panel of thought leaders who are the best stainless steel players in their domains and who bring immense value to the table. They are the guiding force who have helped us create two successful editions of this exclusive event for the stainless steel industry and continue to guide us in creating a bigger and better ecosystem for the industry to come together to network, learn, and grow their business.

Steering Committee 2023

Dr. Aruna Sharma

Former Secretary, Ministry of Steel

Dr Aruna Sharma is an Indian Administrative Officer from the 1982 batch of Madhya Pradesh Cadre and retired as Secretary Steel and Information Technology, Government of India. She believes in having a holistic approach and an established system to ensure sustainable quality outcomes. As Secretary Steel, she drafted and successfully executed the Steel Policy and the Preferential Procurement Policy. She was also instrumental in drafting the National Steel Policy 2017 and also the clear policy on preference to local manufactures which has revived the sector. She is now a Practitioner Development Economist working in the Core, FinTech, and Digital sectors.


Vijay Sharma

Director of the Jindal Stainless Group

With over 35 years of experience, Mr. Sharma has steered diverse roles in the areas of Corporate affairs, Sales, Distribution, Corporate Branding, Marketing & Business Development, Strategy Formulation, Supply Chain Management, Market research & Product development, Customer outreach & satisfaction in Stainless Steel & Automotive Industries. He also has been overseeing profitability of the Service center chains of the Jindal Stainless Group in India and in Spain.

His proven abilities in business analytics, innovation, team building, process optimization, scalable operations, business transformation and organization development have enabled him to lead some of the best performing and engaged teams.

An able orator and an avid social media proponent, Mr. Sharma is a regular presenter in premium institutes, national & international webinars & conferences. He has been awarded multiple accolades for his contribution in Stainless Steel & Automotive Industry.

He is also on the Board of companies like Indian Iron & Steel Skill Sector council, Shalimar paints, JSL Lifestyle & JSSL. He is the Chairman - Haryana state Development Council of ASSOCHAM & Co Chair- Haryana State Chapter PHDCCI. He is member & actively participates in various initiatives of Apex Associations like FICCI & CII.


Rajeev Sherry

Managing Director, India at Outokumpu India Private Limited

He is an experienced professional with a demonstrated history of working in the mining & metals industry. Equipped with strong professional skills in Negotiation, Business Planning, Sales, International Business, and with ample knowledge about the Aluminum/Stainless steel industry, he is a key member of the committee.


Karan Pahuja

Stainless Steel Industry Expert

Karan Pahuja has over 40 years’ experience in the Indian Steel Industry in the areas of operations, market development and policy making. He has been President of Indian Stainless-Steel Development Association, where he led efforts for promotion and growth of Indian stainless-steel industry. During his tenure, stainless steel consumption in India grew by almost 40% to reach nearly 4 MT and India emerged as the fastest growing stainless-steel market in the world. Earlier, he has been Executive Director at Steel Authority of India Ltd. where he was part of corporate operations. He is a mechanical engineer from BITS Pilani and MBA from FMS, Delhi University. He has been a senior assessor for CII-EXIM Bank Business Excellence Award and has been advising many companies on their journey towards excellence and change management. He has also been guest faculty for Strategic Management at IIFT Delhi.


Yatinder Suri

Stainless Steel Industry Expert

An IIT Kharagpur alumnus and Professionally acclaimed for his passion to promote anything stainless – be it steel, people or ethical values in all walks of society and industrial practices. Post superannuation, Yatinder Suri has moved on to the next stage of his career to be a votary for sustainability.

In 2006, Yatinder Suri set up the wholly owned Indian subsidiary of Finnish Group Outokumpu Group and led as MD & Country Head till his superannuation in 2019.

He was on the board/committees/panels of various industry platforms. He was Chairman of Process Plant and Machinery Association of India and member of National Committees of CII for Steel, Capital Goods and Railways.

He is currently Co-Chair of CII National Corrosion Management Committee working on the CII National Mission on War Against Corrosion. He is also the Executive Director of Chemtech Foundation, Chemical process industry’s gateway to Indian market.

He is also a Distinguished Services Alumni awardee from IIT Kharagpur and served as Past President of IITians for Holy Ganga, Past President of IIT Kharagpur Alumni Association North and Founder Secretary of IIT Kharagpur Foundation India.


L. C. Trivedi

Chairman of Institute of Mechanical Engineers (London)

L. C. Trivedi is a renowned Infrastructure expert with 40 years of experience in Railways and Power plants. He retired as GM of EC Railways in June 2021. Currently, he is Chairman of Institute of Mechanical Engineers (London). He is empaneled as Arbitrator with DFCC, IRCON and is Independent External monitor for MSTC.